## The Corporation of the Township of Whitewater Region

By-law Number 17-01-911

## Being a by-law to appoint Council Members to Committees, Boards & Commissions for 2017-2018

**Whereas,** Section 5 of the Municipal Act, 2001 S.O. 2001, c.25 as amended states that the powers of a municipality shall be exercised by its Council and generally through by-law; and

**Whereas,** the Procedural By-law in force and effect confers responsibility to the Mayor for appointments to Standing Committees and Ad Hoc Committees with Council to determine appointments to Boards & Commissions; and

Whereas, Council deems it expedient and necessary to confirm Council appointees for the remainder of the term;

## Now therefore Council of the Corporation of the Township of Whitewater Region enacts as follows:

1. That By-law 15-04-794 is hereby amended to repeal and replace subsection 2(30) to read as follows:

Standing Committees include:

Building & Planning
Community Services
Corporate Services
Economic Development
Emergency Services
Environmental Services
Human Resources
Roads, Property & Protection

 That the following Council Members are appointed as Chair and Co-Chair for the following **Standing Committees** for the remainder of the Council term:

Building & Planning:

Chris Olmstead (Chair), Terry Millar (Co-Chair)

Community Services:

Chris Olmstead (Chair), Terry Millar (Co-Chair)

Corporate Services:

Charlene Jackson (Chair), Chris Olmstead (Co-Chair)

**Economic Development:** 

Terry Millar (Chair), Hal Johnson (Co-Chair)

**Emergency Services:** 

Daryl McLaughlin (Chair), Charlene Jackson (Co-Chair)

**Environmental Services:** 

Dave Mackay (Chair), Hal Johnson (Co-Chair)

By-law 17-01-911 Page 1 of 2

Human Resources: Cathy Regier (Chair), Hal Johnson (Co-Chair)

Roads, Property & Protection: Cathy Regier (Chair), Dave Mackay (Co-Chair)

3. That the following Council Members are appointed to **the Development Committee** for the remainder of the Council term:

Charlene Jackson (Chair), Dave Mackay, Daryl McLaughlin

4. That the following Council Members and representatives are appointed to **Boards & Commissions** for the remainder of the Council term:

Ottawa River Energy Solutions: Bernie Tracy (on behalf of Hal Johnson)
Ottawa River Power Corporation: Hal Johnson
Pembroke & Area Airport Commission: Daryl McLaughlin
Renfrew Community Policing Advisory Committee (CPAC): Daryl McLaughlin
Upper Ottawa Valley CPAC: Terry Millar
Renfrew County Veterinarian Association: Dave Mackay
Whitewater/Bromley Community Health Centre: Hal Johnson
Whitewater Historical Society: Hal Johnson, Daryl McLaughlin

- That By-law 16-04-861 to make appointments to the Whitewater Region Public Library Board is amended with regard to the Council Representative to delete Cathy Regier and replace with Hal Johnson.
- 6. That this by-law shall come into force and take effect upon being passed by Council.

Read a first, second and third time and finally passed this 4th day of January, 2017.

Hal Johnson, Mayor

Robert H.A. Tremblay, Clerk

By-law 17-01-911 Page 2 of 2